Insulation and thermal resistance

The primary role of insulation in a building is to withstand the transfer of heat through the building envelope. Insulation must keep the heat inside the building and this resistance to heat transfer to the outside is defined as "thermal resistance".

When a building is poorly insulated, there are revealing clues such as:

  1. Floors and walls that are cold;
  2. Heating costs are high compared to a building of the same size well insulated;
  3. A significant variation in the temperature of the surface (floors and walls) in the same room;
  4. Condensation and mold in the structure of the external walls;
  5. The interior is very hot, during the summer, and the high air conditioning costs as well as the difficulty of air conditioning the space.

Types of insulation

There are several types of insulation that are used, among others:

  • Mattress insulation (mattress);
  • Cellulosic fiber;
  • Mineral wool;
  • Fiberglass;
  • Mineral fiber;
  • Expanded or extruded polystyrene;
  • Rigid fiberglass
  • Rigid mineral fiber
  • Polyurethane spray, etc.

Using an infrared camera (thermography), we detect the problematic points with respect to the insulation in the external envelope of the building (the points of thermal losses in the envelope). We also use exploratory holes in the identified areas to examine insulation that may be damp, compacted, improperly installed, inadequate or absent.

Condensation and heat losses

Condensation in the structure is the most common problem when insulation is improperly installed or improperly installed. However, it should be noted that theisolantion is not the only one responsible for the problems of condensation and thermal losses in the building envelope. In fact, there are components that play an important role, such as air barrier and the vapor. The air barrier is on the outside of the wall and the vapor barrier on the inside of the wall.

An improperly installed air barrier allows cold air to enter the structure and cause condensation in the structure. While a poorly installed or absent vapor barrier leaves the interior moisture penetrate into the structure and causes a problem of condensation.

The air barrier and vapor barrier must be properly installed, according to the rules of the art, for the envelope to be effective and function as an integrated assembly. The aim is to ensure the thermal comfort of the occupants and to prevent the formation of mold, condensation and rotting of the wood of the structure.

Building envelope

At the time of construction, it must be ensured that the components that form the building envelope have the adequate thermal resistance stipulated in the current Quebec Energy Code.

A building expert should be consulted to calculate the total thermal resistance of the exterior wall components and to ensure that the condensation (dew point) does not occur in the wood structure of the exterior walls. This is to prevent rotting of the structure and the formation of molds and the problems associated with them, such as carpenter ants, infiltration of air or water by the rotten structure, the smell of mold and rotting. etc.

Condensation behind the wool insulation

Condensation behind the wool insulation

Insulation

Extruded insulation deteriorated by carpenter ants

English English français Français

Isolation et résistance thermique

Le rôle principal de l’isolant, dans un bâtiment, est de résister au transfert de chaleur à travers l’enveloppe du bâtiment. L’isolantion doit conserver la chaleur à l’intérieur du bâtiment et cette résistance au transfert de chaleur, vers l’extérieur, se définit comme étant la « résistance thermique ».

Lorsqu’un immeuble est mal isolé, il y a des indices révélateurs comme :

  1. Les planchers et les murs qui sont froids;
  2. Les coûts de chauffage qui sont élevés comparativement à un bâtiment de la même taille bien isolé;
  3. Une variation importante de la température de la surface (planchers et murs) dans la même pièce;
  4. La condensation et les moisissures dans la structure des murs extérieurs;
  5. L’intérieur qui est très chaud, durant l’été, et les coûts de climatisation élevés ainsi que la difficulté de climatiser l’espace.

Types d’isolation

Il existe plusieurs types d’isolation qu’on utilise, entre autres :

  • L’isolation en natte (matelas);
  • La laine minérale;
  • La fibre cellulosique;
  • La fibre de verre;
  • La fibre minérale;
  • Le polystyrène expansé ou extrudé;
  • La fibre de verre rigide;
  • La fibre minérale rigide;
  • Le polyuréthane giclé, etc.

À l’aide d’une caméra infrarouge (thermographie), nous détectons les points problématiques par rapport à l’isolant dans l’enveloppe extérieure du bâtiment (les points de pertes thermiques dans l’enveloppe). Par la suite, nous pratiquons des trous exploratoires aux endroits décelés pour examiner l’isolant qui peut être humide, compacté, mal installé, inadéquat ou absent.

Condensation et pertes thermiques

La condensation dans la structure est le problème le plus fréquent lorsque l’isolation est mal installée ou inadéquate. Cependant, il faut préciser que l’isolantion n’est pas le seul responsable des problèmes de condensation et de pertes thermiques dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment. En effet, il y a des composantes qui jouent un rôle important comme les pare-air et les pare-vapeur. Le pare-air se trouve à l’extérieur du mur et le pare-vapeur à l’intérieur du mur.

Un pare-air mal installé laisse l’air froid entrer dans la structure et provoque la condensation dans cette dernière. Alors qu’un pare-vapeur mal posé ou absent laisse l’humidité intérieure pénétrer dans la structure et engendre un problème de condensation.

Ces composantes doivent être bien installées, en vertu des règles de l’art, pour que l’enveloppe soit efficace et fonctionne comme un ensemble intégré. Le but étant d’assurer le confort thermique des occupants et d’empêcher la formation de moisissures, la condensation et le pourrissement du bois de la structure.

Au moment de la construction, il faut s’assurer que les composantes qui forment les murs extérieurs possèdent la résistance thermique adéquate stipulée dans le Code d’énergie du Québec en vigueur.

Un expert en bâtiment doit être consulté afin de calculer la résistance thermique totale des composantes du mur extérieur et s’assurer que la condensation (point de rosée) n’arrive pas dans la structure en bois des murs extérieurs. Ceci pour éviter le pourrissement de la structure et la formation de moisissures ainsi que les problèmes associés à ceux-ci, comme les fourmis charpentières, les infiltrations d’air ou d’eau par la structure pourrie, l’odeur de moisissures et de pourriture, etc.

Condensation derrière l'isolation en laine

Condensation derrière l’isolation en laine

Isolation

Isolant extrudé détérioré par les fourmis charpentières