Infiltration of water in the building

The infiltrations of water in a building are the most detrimental problems for the structure and enjoyment of the premises. The building envelope, with its vertical and horizontal sealing layers, is the line of defense against water infiltration.

In addition to the deterioration of the structure, water infiltration can cause problems with masonry mechanical detachment, the bulging of bricks, the recess of mortar joints, the formation of molds and the appearance of carpenter ants who are looking for a humid place.

Two types of water infiltration

There are two types of water infiltration, namely a direct, like a hole in the envelope that allows water to enter directly inside or a crack in the wall of foundations. The second type is a problem indirectfor example, the water that runs behind the bricks and does not find its way to evacuate outside. Due to the lack of weeds, the water remains trapped at the base of the siding and eventually deteriorates the wood through the absorption of materials and capillarity.

Infiltration of water in the basement

In fact, it is the subsoil that is the most vulnerable place to water infiltration and the causes are multiple:

Prevention

A slope of suitable ground around the building, the quality of the external drainage, the presence of weep at the base of the exterior siding and above the openings, regular maintenance of the joints and flashings in the building envelope are all factorsavoid water infiltration.

To determine the causes and source of the water seepage, the engineer conducts a visual inspection and testing at locations suspected of providing a waterway into the building. These tests are as follows:

  • A leak test that consists of watering the outside of the areas studied with a garden hose and / or a high-pressure electric sprayer;
  • Moisture tests in materials using a moisture sensor;
  • Detection of insulators or wet materials behind finishes using an infrared camera for the purpose of capturing images;
  • Exploratory cuts to affected areas for condition checking of building materials as required.

If damage is noticed (appearance of molds harmful to health, weakening of the building structure, etc.), we will inform you of the seriousness of the situation and the appropriate remedial measures to be taken.

Infiltration of water in the basement

Infiltration of water in the basement

Water infiltration

Infiltration of water through a crack in the foundation wall

English English français Français

Infiltration d’eau dans le bâtiment 

Les infiltrations d’eau dans un bâtiment sont des problèmes les plus néfastes pour la structure et la jouissance des lieux. L’enveloppe du bâtiment, avec ses couches d’étanchéité verticales et horizontales, est la ligne de défense contre les infiltrations d’eau.

Outre la détérioration de la structure, les infiltrations d’eau peuvent causer des problèmes relatifs à la maçonnerie comme le détachement mécanique, le bombement des briques, l’évidement des joints de mortier, la formation de moisissures et l’apparition de fourmis charpentières qui recherchent un endroit humide.

Deux types d’infiltrations d’eau

Il existe deux types d’infiltrations d’eau, à savoir une  directe, comme un trou dans l’enveloppe qui permet à l’eau d’entrer directement à l’intérieur ou encore une fissure dans le mur de fondations. Le deuxième type correspond à un problème  indirecte, par exemple l’eau qui ruisselle derrière les briques et qui ne trouve pas son chemin pour s’évacuer à l’extérieur. À cause du manque de chantepleures, l’eau reste emprisonnée à la base du parement et finit par détériorer le bois par l’absorption des matériaux et par capillarité.

Infiltration d’eau au sous-sol

En fait, c’est le sous-sol qui est l’endroit le plus vulnérable aux infiltrations d’eau et les causes sont multiples :

Prévention

Une pente de terrain convenable au pourtour du bâtiment, la qualité du drainage extérieur, la présence de chantepleures à la base du parement extérieur et au-dessus des ouvertures, des travaux d’entretien réguliers des joints de scellement et des solins, dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment, sont tous des facteurs permettant d’éviter les infiltrations d’eau.

Pour déterminer les causes et la source de l’infiltration d’eau, l’ingénieur effectue une inspection visuelle et des tests aux endroits suspectés d’offrir un passage à l’eau  vers l’intérieur du bâtiment. Ces tests sont les suivants :

  • Un test d’étanchéité qui consiste à arroser le côté extérieur des zones étudiées à l’aide d’un boyau d’arrosage et/ou d’un pulvérisateur électrique à haute pression;
  • Des tests d’humidité dans les matériaux au moyen d’un détecteur de moiteur;
  • Une détection d’isolants ou de matériaux humides derrière les finis au moyen d’une caméra infrarouge dans le but de capter des images thermographiques;
  • Des coupes exploratoires aux endroits touchés pour la vérification de l’état des matériaux de construction, au besoin.

Si des dommages sont constatés (apparition de moisissures néfastes pour la santé, fragilisation de la structure du bâtiment, etc.), nous vous informerons de la gravité de la situation et des mesures de réparation appropriées à prendre.

Infiltration d’eau

Infiltration d’eau