2019 Floods

By definition, floodplain represents the land surface that is submerged by a watercourse when it overflows its bed. "Many factors affect the flow of a river, and therefore the risk of flooding. Among the most important are the amount and type of rainfall, the nature and condition of the watershed, and the climate "(Government of Canada).

Damage to buildings

The floods cause considerable material damage to buildings in flood-prone areas.

Here are some examples of damage caused by floods:

  • Slab on damaged soil due to high hydrostatic pressure;
  • The appearance of star-shaped cracks in the slab on the ground;
  • A structural movement in the foundations;
  • The subsidence of the building;
  • Rot in the wooden structure; etc.

Waterproof foundations

Municipalities require foundations to be water-repellent when a building is located in a flood-prone area (floodplain). Waterproof foundations imply that concrete foundations must have the samearmature necessary to resist the hydrostatic pressure that would cause a flood. The entire external surface of the vertical part of the foundation - located below the flood level - must be covered with a water-repellent rubberized asphalt membrane.

In addition, the floor of foundations must be built with a base slab (slab), the surface of which is covered with a waterproof membrane based on rubberized asphalt.

In short, the foundations, the footings, the slab on the ground - in the system of water-repellent foundations - must be well waterproof and waterproof. This type of system must not allow water to enter the basement, despite the high hydrostatic pressure that is practiced against these elements.

After flooding a building, the authorities request that a civil engineer visit the property to assess the damage and propose the appropriate solution for the necessary corrections.

Floods

Waterproof membrane

Floods

Waterproof foundations

English English Français Français

Inondations 2019

Par définition, la zone inondable représente la surface de terre qui est submergée par un cours d’eau lorsqu’il déborde de son lit. « De nombreux facteurs influent sur le débit d’une rivière, et donc sur les risques d’inondation. Parmi les plus importants, mentionnons la quantité et le type de précipitations, la nature et l’état du bassin versant, ainsi que le climat » (Gouvernement du Canada).

Dommages aux bâtiments

Les inondations provoquent des dommages matériels considérables aux bâtiments se trouvant dans des zones inondables.

Voici des exemples de dommages causés par les inondations :

  • La dalle sur sol endommagée à cause de la pression hydrostatique élevée;
  • L’apparition de fissures en forme d’étoile dans la dalle sur sol;
  • Un mouvement structural dans les fondations;
  • L’affaissement du bâtiment;
  • Pourriture dans la structure en bois; etc.

Fondations hydrofuges

Les municipalités exigent que les fondations soient hydrofuges lorsqu’un bâtiment est situé dans une zone sujette aux inondations (plaine inondable). Les fondations hydrofuges impliquent que les fondations de béton doivent avoir l’armature nécessaire pour résister à la pression hydrostatique que provoquerait une crue. Toute la surface externe de la partie verticale des fondations – située sous le niveau d’inondation – doit être recouverte d’une membrane hydrofuge à base d’asphalte caoutchoutée.

De plus, le plancher des fondations doit être construit avec une contre-dalle de base (dalle de propreté) dont la surface est recouverte d’une membrane hydrofuge à base d’asphalte caoutchoutée.

Bref, les fondations, les semelles, la dalle sur sol – dans le système de fondations hydrofuges – doivent être bien imperméabilisées et étanches. Ce type de système ne doit pas laisser l’eau pénétrer au sous-sol, malgré la pression hydrostatique élevée qui est pratiquée contre ces éléments.

Après l’inondation d’un bâtiment, les autorités demandent qu’un ingénieur civil visite la propriété pour évaluer les dommages et proposer la solution appropriée pour les corrections nécessaires.

Inondations

Membrane hydrofuge

Inondations

Fondations hydrofuge

English English Français Français