Here is the fifth part concerning facade inspection. We will deal with the question of metal fasteners for brick walls. These fasteners are therefore the elements connecting the brick facing to the structure of the building.

Role of metal fasteners

Let us mention that the fastening clips of the masonry transfer the lateral load of the wall, towards the structure of the building, and then prevent the movement of the lateral wall towards the outside. This can cause the brick wall to collapse.

The installation of metal fasteners is essential for the lateral stability of brick walls. It is essential that the installation respects the rules of the art and the Building Code in force. Thus, the fasteners must absolutely withstand lateral forces and corrosion.

In old buildings, at the beginning of the construction of the brick walls, they were fastened against the wooden planks with nails, which corroded over time and separated from the wooden planks. This caused bulges in the brick wall [colloquially known as beef belly].

Two types of movement

In general, there are two types of movement in brick walls attached to wooden planks. The first type of movement is the detachment of bricks from the structure of wooden planks in the upper part of the wall. This phenomenon is caused by the corrosion of the nails, at the top of the facing, by the exfiltration of moist air.

Indeed, the exterior walls of the log buildings of the time are poorly insulated. There is therefore significant heat loss through these walls in the upper part of the building. The reason is that warm, moist air rises to the upper ceiling of the building by the chimney effect. Thus, the moist, warm air - which passes through the wooden planks to the outside - attacks the nails in the cladding of the last rows of bricks at the top of the building. These nails deteriorate and separate from the wooden planks, and the bricks move outward to form an ox belly.

Sometimes, the presence of water infiltration behind the bricks causes the corrosion of the fastening nails. This situation also leads to detachments from the bricks of the plank walls.

As regards the second type of movement, one can also find detached and displaced brick walls at the base of the siding. This movement of the bricks is generally caused by the collapse of cemented stone foundations.

When bulging brick walls, remove bricks from affected areas and replace fastening nails with galvanized steel strips. It is best to use two-component metal fasteners. These fasteners must be fastened to the wooden structure with twisted nails or screws having a diameter in accordance with the current Construction Code.

metal fasteners

Metal fasteners

English English Français Français

Voici le cinquième volet concernant l’inspection des façades. Nous allons traiter de la question des attaches métalliques pour les contre-murs en briques. Ces attaches sont donc les éléments connectant le parement de briques à la structure du bâtiment.

Rôle des attaches métalliques

Mentionnons que les attaches de fixation de la maçonnerie transfèrent la charge latérale du mur, vers la structure du bâtiment, et puis empêchent le mouvement du mur latéral vers l’extérieur. Ce qui peut causer l’effondrement du mur en brique.

L’installation des attaches métalliques est primordiale pour la stabilité latérale des murs en brique. Il est essentiel que l’installation respecte les règles de l’art et le Code de construction en vigueur. Ainsi, les attaches de fixation doivent absolument résister aux forces latérales et à la corrosion.

Dans les anciennes constructions, au début de la réalisation des contre-murs en briques, ces derniers étaient attachés contre les madriers en bois à l’aide de clous qui se corrodaient, avec le temps, et se détachaient de la structure des madriers en bois. Ceci causait des bombements dans le mur en brique [qu’on appelle familièrement ventre de bœuf].

Deux types de mouvement

En général, il existe deux types de mouvement dans les murs de briques attachés contre les madriers en bois. Le premier type de mouvement est le détachement des briques de la structure de madriers en bois dans la partie supérieure du mur. Ce phénomène est causé par la corrosion des clous, en haut du parement, par l’exfiltration d’air humide. 

En effet, les murs extérieurs des bâtiments en madriers de l’époque sont mal isolés. Il y a donc des pertes de chaleur importantes, par ces murs, dans la partie élevée du bâtiment. La raison en est que l’air chaud et humide monte vers le plafond supérieur du bâtiment par l’effet de cheminée. Ainsi, l’air d’humide et chaud – qui traverse les madriers en bois vers l’extérieur – attaque les clous situés dans le parement des dernières rangées de briques en haut du bâtiment. Ces clous se détériorent et se détachent des madriers en bois, et les briques bougent vers l’extérieur pour former un ventre de bœuf.

Parfois, la présence d’infiltrations d’eau, derrière les briques, cause la corrosion des clous d’attache. Cette situation mène également à des détachements des briques des murs en madriers.

En ce qui concerne le deuxième type de mouvement, on peut aussi trouver des murs de briques détachés et déplacés à la base des parements. Ce mouvement des briques est généralement occasionné par l’affaissement des fondations en pierres cimentées.  

Lors d’un bombement dans les murs en brique, il faut enlever des briques aux endroits affectés et remplacer les clous d’attache par des feuillards en acier galvanisé. C’est préférable d’utiliser des attaches métalliques à deux composantes. Ces attaches doivent être fixées, à la structure en bois, avec des clous vrillés ou des vis ayant un diamètre conforme au Code de construction en vigueur.

Les articles “inspection des façades”

Inspection de maçonnerie

Inspection de maçonnerie