The role of the building envelope is to protect the occupants from the external environment and to provide thermal comfort to them. Unfortunately, the natural external elements (sun, wind, rain, snow, etc.) as well as the pollution affect the envelope and cause, with time, the deterioration of the components of this envelope.

Building envelope

When we talk about the building envelope, we designate all the walls that separate the building from the outside environment. It is not only the exterior facades (walls, siding, doors and windows, ceilings on the upper floor), but also the roof, the slab on the ground and the walls of foundations.

Moisture problem in the envelope

An intrinsic enemy can also attack the envelope from the inside and cause premature deterioration of the envelope, namely the condensation inside that envelope. The condensation phenomenon in the building envelope can be caused by the diffusion of water vapor into the warm air, indoors, or by air leaks and the heat transfer à through the envelope.

Water vapor and air leaks

There are therefore two causes that explain the presence of moisture in the building envelope, namely: 1) the diffusion of water vapor and 2) air leakage.

  • La water Vapour in the hot air (inside the building), which passes through the envelope, will condense and turn into water droplets as the temperature gradually cools, in the envelope, through the layers towards the 'outside. By definition, water vapor is moisture in the air as a gas. Water vapor that exceeds the dew point (or saturation) turns into liquid, this is called condensation. Thus, the installation of a vapor barrier is necessary to prevent water vapor from passing through the building envelope.
  • Moreover, the air leaks in the envelope convey water vapor to the interior of the structure also causing the condensation. For this reason, the installation of a continuous air barrier is essential to prevent air movement and avoid condensation in the building envelope.

Fireplace effect

In the building, during the winter, the warm air rises to the upper floor by the chimney effect (pulling effect) that occurs because of the movement of warm air that is lighter. This movement creates a negative pressure - on the lower floors - that draws cold outside air into the building. This is why this situation produces, in the lower part of the building, air infiltration coming from the outside towards the inside.

Thus, warm, moist air rises to the upper floor creating a high pressure that pushes warm air out through the casing. To balance the total pressure in the building, warm, moist air passes through the structure to the outside. In this structure, the temperature gradually drops, the closer you get to the outside, and the water vapor (in the hot air) condenses, because the air cools. If condensation of water vapor enters the structure (dew point), this will cause premature deterioration of the structure. Normally, condensation and decay of the structure are more common in the upper parts of the building, where warm, moist air accumulates.

To illustrate this point, take the example of buildings built before the 60 years. In these cases, the mechanical detachments of the bricks are more concentrated (bellies) in the upper parts of the external walls. These walls are made of planks and nails fixing the bricks with planks. Hot, moist air flows through the log walls to the outside, in the upper part of the building, and the water vapor condenses, causing corrosion of the nails securing the bricks to the planks. As a result, the bricks move outward in the upper part.

The vapor barrier and the a transfer heat

It is therefore important to install the vapor on the warm side of the outer wall and the air barrier on the cold side of the exterior wall. These two components are essential for controlling air infiltration and exfiltration, through the casing, and to prevent condensation and premature deterioration of the envelope structure.

Airtightness of the envelope

It is also necessary to add the insulation in the wall to delay the movement of air in the building envelope. However, as a first step, special attention must be paid to the airtightness of the casing at the time of construction, ie the air barrier must be properly installed. respecting the details, especially around openings (doors and windows).

When the air barrier is installed outside, we can then ensure good energy efficiency by minimizing heat loss and heat transfer by the outer shell. In addition, the correction of deficiencies relating to the installation of the air barrier is complicated and costly, because these correction work requires the removal of bricks or external coatings.

Exterior sealing joints, around the periphery of the outer casing and around the doors and windows, are also very important for sealing the outer casing and minimizing a transfer heat.

heat transfer

Heat transfer and thermal losses through the building envelope

English English Français Français

L’enveloppe du bâtiment a pour rôle de protéger les occupants de l’environnement extérieur et d’assurer un confort thermique à ceux-ci. Malheureusement, les éléments naturels extérieurs (soleil, vent, pluie, neige, etc.) ainsi que la pollution affectent l’enveloppe et causent, avec le temps, la détérioration des composantes de cette enveloppe.

Enveloppe du bâtiment

Lorsqu’on parle de l’enveloppe du bâtiment, on désigne toutes les parois qui séparent le bâtiment de l’environnement extérieur. Il ne s’agit pas seulement des façades extérieures (murs, revêtements extérieurs, portes et fenêtres, plafonds à l’étage supérieur), mais aussi la toiture, la dalle sur sol et les murs de fondations.

Problème d’humidité dans l’enveloppe

Un ennemi intrinsèque peut aussi attaquer l’enveloppe, de l’intérieur, et causer une détérioration prématurée de celle-ci, à savoir la condensation se trouvant à l’intérieur de cette enveloppe. Le phénomène de condensation dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment peut être causé par la diffusion de la vapeur d’eau dans l’air chaud, à l’intérieur, ou par les fuites d’air et le transfert de chaleur à  travers l’enveloppe.

Vapeur d’eau et fuites d’air

Il existe donc deux causes qui expliquent la présence d’humidité dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment, à savoir : 1) la diffusion de la vapeur d’eau et 2) les fuites d’air.

  • La vapeur d’eau présente dans l’air chaud (à l’intérieur du bâtiment), qui traverse l’enveloppe, va se condenser et se transformer en gouttelettes d’eau lorsque la température se refroidit graduellement, dans l’enveloppe, en traversant les couches vers l’extérieur. Par définition, la vapeur d’eau c’est de l’humidité dans l’air sous forme de gaz. La vapeur d’eau qui dépasse le point de rosée (ou de saturation) se transforme en liquide, c’est ce qu’on appelle la condensation. Ainsi, l’installation d’un pare-vapeur est nécessaire pour empêcher le vapeur d’eau de traverser l’enveloppe du bâtiment.
  • De plus, les fuites d’air dans l’enveloppe acheminent la vapeur d’eau vers l’intérieur de la structure causant également de la condensation. Pour cette raison, l’installation d’un pare-air continu est essentielle pour empêcher les mouvements d’air et éviter la condensation dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment.

Effet de cheminée

Dans le bâtiment, durant l’hiver, l’air chaud monte vers l’étage supérieur par l’effet de cheminée (effet de tirage) qui se produit à cause du mouvement de l’air chaud qui est plus léger. Ce mouvement crée une pression négative – aux étages inférieurs – qui tire l’air froid extérieur vers l’intérieur du bâtiment. C’est la raison pour laquelle cette situation produit, dans la partie inférieure du bâtiment, des infiltrations d’air en provenance de l’extérieur vers l’intérieur.

Ainsi, l’air chaud et humide monte vers l’étage supérieur en créant une pression élevée qui pousse l’air chaud vers l’extérieur à travers l’enveloppe. Pour équilibrer la pression totale dans le bâtiment, l’air chaud et humide traverse la structure vers l’extérieur. Dans cette structure, la température descend graduellement, plus on se rapproche de l’extérieur, et la vapeur d’eau (dans l’air chaud) se condense, car l’air refroidit. Si la condensation de la vapeur d’eau parvient à l’intérieur de la structure (point de rosée), ceci causera alors une détérioration prématurée de la structure. Normalement, la condensation et la pourriture de la structure se retrouvent davantage dans les parties supérieures du bâtiment, là où l’air chaud et humide s’accumule.

Pour illustrer ce propos, prenons l’exemple des bâtiments construits avant les années 60. Dans ces cas précis, les détachements mécaniques des briques se concentrent davantage (ventres de bœuf) dans les parties supérieures des murs extérieurs. Ces murs sont composés de madriers et de clous fixant les briques aux madriers. L’air chaud et humide traverse les murs en madriers vers l’extérieur, dans la partie supérieure du bâtiment, et la vapeur d’eau se condense causant ainsi la corrosion des clous fixant les briques aux madriers. Par conséquent, les briques bougent vers l’extérieur dans la partie du haut.

Le pare-vapeur et le transfert de chaleur

Il est donc important d’installer le pare-vapeur du côté chaud du mur extérieur et le pare-air du côté froid du mur extérieur. Ces deux composantes sont essentielles pour contrôler les infiltrations et exfiltrations d’air, à travers l’enveloppe, et pour éviter la condensation et la détérioration prématurée de la structure de l’enveloppe.

Étanchéité à l’air de l’enveloppe

Il faut également ajouter l’isolant dans le mur pour retarder le mouvement d’air dans l’enveloppe du bâtiment. Cependant, dans un premier temps, il faut porter une attention particulière à l’étanchéité à l’air de l’enveloppe, au moment de la construction, c’est-à-dire que le pare-air doit être bien installé, en respectant les détails, surtout au pourtour des ouvertures (portes et fenêtres).

Lorsque le pare-air est bien installé à l’extérieur, on peut alors assurer une bonne efficacité énergétique en minimisant les pertes thermiques et le transfert de chaleur par l’enveloppe extérieure. De plus, la correction des déficiences relatives à l’installation du pare-air est compliquée et coûteuse, car ces travaux de correction nécessitent l’enlèvement des briques ou des revêtements extérieurs.

Les joints de scellement extérieurs, au pourtour des dispositifs qui percent l’enveloppe extérieure ainsi qu’au pourtour des portes et fenêtres sont également très importants pour assurer l’étanchéité de l’enveloppe extérieure et minimiser le  transfert de chaleur.

transfert de chaleur

Transfert de chaleur et pertes thermiques par l’enveloppe du bâtiment

English English Français Français