In Quebec, tragic accidents have forced the legislator to intervene to ensure that homeowners maintain adequatethe walls of buildings, as well as parking lots. Building facades are an essential component of the building envelope. They therefore require regular maintenance to prevent deterioration and corrosion of its elements. Otherwise, there may be detachment and collapse of building facade components, posing a direct threat to public safety.

Le new Chapter VIII / Building du security code of the Building (CBCS), under the responsibility of the Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ), came into force on 18 March 2013. The Security Code is integrated into the Building Act. Henceforth, the grouping of co-owners or the owners of a residential building are required to have the façades of high-rise buildings (by engineers or architects) and staged parking lots * inspected in a comprehensive and periodic manner. professionals (engineers).

For which buildings?

This measure is intended to improve the safety of all subject buildings of which at least one facade has five (5) above ground floors and more.

All 5 years from the 10th anniversary of the construction of the building, it is required that audit report (given to the RBQ) certifies the fact that the facades of the building do not present any dangerous condition. We hear by " dangerous condition "Any condition that an element of one of the facades may imminently become detached from the building or collapse and cause injury to persons" (375 article of the Building Safety Code).

What is inspected?

This requirement involves the verification of exterior claddings, balconies, balustrades and other facade components by means of a visual inspection and partial dismantlement and exploratory cuts if necessary. The384 article of the Building Safety Code stipulates that the verification report for façades must indicate, inter alia, "the location and description of defects and their causes that may contribute to the development of hazardous conditions" and "a description of the corrective work to be carried out so that the facades of the building remain safe ".

The owner must keep a record of maintenance of the building and certify the safety of the building components.

PARKING PARKS

The requirements relating to parking lots parking when it is underground and at least one running surface of the concrete slab does not rest on the ground (at least 2 floors) or when it is overhead and at least one running surface does not not rest on the ground (385 article of the Building Safety Code).

"A parking lot must be maintained in such a way as to ensure safety and prevent the development of dangerous conditions" (386 article of the Security Code).

In-depth audit

The first comprehensive verification report, after the engineer's visit, must be submitted between 12 and 18 months after the construction of the building (397 article of the Safety Code.) "Every 5 years, the owner must obtain from an engineer a thorough verification report stating that the parking lot has no dangerous condition and that, where appropriate, recommendations to correct defects that may contribute to the development of hazardous conditions have been formulated "(389 article of the Security Code).

"A thorough check of the parking lot must also be carried out as a result of any event that may affect its structural behavior" (390 article of the Building Safety Code).

Facades of buildings

Façade inspection

English English Français Français

Au Québec, des accidents tragiques ont forcé le législateur à intervenir pour que les propriétaires entretiennent adéquatement les façades des bâtiments, ainsi que les parcs de stationnement. Les façades des bâtiments constituent une composante essentielle de l’enveloppe du bâtiment. Elles nécessitent donc un entretien régulier pour éviter la détérioration et la corrosion de ses éléments. Sinon, il peut y avoir détachement et chute des composantes des façades des bâtiments , ce qui constitue une menace directe à la sécurité du public.

Le nouveau Chapitre VIII/Bâtiment du Code de sécurité du bâtiment (CBCS), sous la responsabilité de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ), est entré en vigueur le 18 mars 2013. Le Code de sécurité est intégré à la Loi sur le bâtiment. Désormais, le regroupement de copropriétaires ou les propriétaires d’un bâtiment résidentiel ont l’obligation de faire inspecter, de façon exhaustive et périodique, les façades d’immeubles en hauteur (par des ingénieurs ou architectes) et les parcs de stationnement étagés* auprès de professionnels (ingénieurs).

Pour quels bâtiments ?

Cette mesure vise ainsi à améliorer la sécurité de tous les bâtiments assujettis dont au moins une façade compte cinq (5) étages hors sol et plus.

Tous les 5 ans à compter du 10e anniversaire de la construction de l’immeuble, on exige qu’un rapport de vérification (remis à la RBQ) certifie le fait que les façades du bâtiment ne présentent aucune condition dangereuse. On entend par « condition dangereuse » « toute condition faisant en sorte qu’un élément de l’une des façades peut, de façon imminente, se détacher du bâtiment ou s’effondrer et causer des blessures aux personnes » (article 375 du Code de sécurité du bâtiment).

Qu’est-ce qui est inspecté ?

Cette exigence implique la vérification des revêtements extérieurs, balcons, balustrades et autres composantes des façades au moyen d’une inspection visuelle approfondie et la réalisation de démantèlements partiels et de coupes exploratoires si nécessaire. L’article 384 du Code de sécurité du bâtiment stipule que le rapport de vérification pour les façades doit indiquer, entre autres, « la localisation et la description des défauts et leurs causes pouvant contribuer au développement de conditions dangereuses » ainsi que « la description des travaux correctifs à réaliser pour que les façades du bâtiment demeurent sécuritaires ».

Le propriétaire doit tenir un registre d’entretien de l’immeuble et attester du caractère sécuritaire des composantes du bâtiment.

PARCS DE STATIONNEMENT

Les exigences relatives aux parcs de stationnement concernent un stationnement lorsqu’il est souterrain et qu’au moins une surface de roulement de la dalle de béton ne repose pas sur le sol (au moins 2 étages) ou lorsqu’il est aérien et qu’au moins une surface de roulement ne repose pas sur le sol (article 385 du Code de sécurité du bâtiment).

« Un parc de stationnement doit être entretenu de façon à assurer la sécurité et empêcher le développement de conditions dangereuses » (article 386 du Code de sécurité).

Vérification approfondie

Le premier rapport de vérification approfondie, après la visite de l’ingénieur, doit être remis entre 12 et 18 mois après la construction de l’immeuble (article 397 du Code de sécurité).« Tous les 5 ans, le propriétaire doit obtenir d’un ingénieur un rapport de vérification approfondie établissant que le parc de stationnement ne présente aucune condition dangereuse et que, s’il y a lieu, des recommandations visant à corriger les défauts pouvant contribuer au développement de conditions dangereuses ont été formulées » (article 389 du Code de sécurité).

« Une vérification approfondie du parc de stationnement doit aussi être effectuée à la suite de tout événement pouvant avoir une incidence sur son comportement structural » (article 390 du Code de sécurité du bâtiment).

Façades des bâtiments

Inspection des façades

English English Français Français