Cracks in the foundation walls

People who want to buy a new property often worry about seeing cracks in the foundations of the coveted home. There are, in fact, several types of cracks in the foundations that do not all have the same gravity:

  • There are, among others, minor cracks of shrinkage resulting from concrete drying after pouring. Normally, these cracks are thin, vertical, are not open and do not affect the structural integrity of the house. However, they can represent a risk of water infiltration into the subsoil. It is then more prudent to carry out a preventive repair in order to avoid any possible water infiltration.
  • Another type is cracks due to a structural movement of the building, namely the structural cracks. The structural movement may be the result of the subsidence of the soil supporting the house, the heave caused by freezing, a lateral thrust of the soil, a French drain not functional or absent, a bad design of the sole or foundation walls (such as insufficient width of the footing), poor load distribution or poor concrete implementation.

Soil subsidence

Soil subsidence is the most important factor that can cause foundation cracks. Normally, these cracks are vertical and open, and sometimes there is an offset on both sides of the crack in the foundation wall.

What are the signs of soil subsidence?

  • Sagging with the slab on the ground;
  • Cracks and shears in the interior finish;
  • Wooden floors, on the ground floor and upstairs, which are not level;
  • Bulges in the bricks, in the lower part of the siding.

In the greater Montreal area, soils are mostly composed of clay. It is recognized that buildings sitting on clay are the most prone to serious structural movements. Indeed, the bearing capacity of the clay is generally problematic. This low bearing capacity causes differential settlements in the foundation wall.

To evaluate the differential settlement and to know the gravity of the subsidence of the building, it is necessary to level reading testfor foundation walls, made by a specialist. The latter measures the degree of subsidence and analyzes whether tolerances are exceeded or not according to the standard in force. If necessary, he then proposes the appropriate solution. Corrective work for the stabilization of foundations is the driving of piles or the use of anchor plates to secure the two sides of the foundation wall together.

Repair of cracks

To prevent water ingress into the cracks in the foundation walls, cracks in the foundation walls can be repaired with flexible polyurethane. In the case where the cracks are active, reinforcing the foundations with steel anchors is as important as injecting cracks to solidify the concrete and prevent the reopening of a crack. Repairing an externally injected crack will require the installation of a waterproof membrane applied to the foundation wall that has been previously cleaned.

Cracks in the foundation walls

Crack in the foundation wall

English English Français Français

Fissures dans les murs de fondations

Les gens qui désirent acquérir une nouvelle propriété s’inquiètent souvent après avoir observé des fissures dans les fondations de la maison convoitée. Il existe, en fait, plusieurs types de fissures dans les fondations et qui n’ont pas toutes la même gravité :

  • Il y a, entre autres, les fissures mineures de retrait qui résultent du séchage de béton après le coulage. Normalement, ces fissures sont minces, verticales, ne sont pas ouvertes et n’affectent pas l’intégrité structurale de la maison. Cependant, elles peuvent représenter un risque d’infiltration d’eau vers l’intérieur du sous-sol. Il est alors plus prudent d’effectuer une réparation préventive afin d’éviter toute infiltration d’eau éventuelle.
  • Un autre type, ce sont les fissures dues à un mouvement structural du bâtiment, à savoir les fissures structurelles. Le mouvement structural peut être le résultat de l’affaissement du sol supportant la maison, du soulèvement causé par le gel, d’une poussée latérale du sol, d’un drain français non fonctionnel ou absent, d’une mauvaise conception de la semelle ou des murs de fondations (comme la largeur insuffisante de la semelle), d’une mauvaise répartition des charges ou encore d’une mise en œuvre défaillante du béton.

Affaissement du sol

L’affaissement du sol est le facteur le plus important pouvant causer des fissures dans les fondations. Normalement, ces fissures sont verticales et ouvertes, et parfois, on aperçoit un décalage des deux côtés de la fissure dans le mur de fondations.

Quels sont les signes d’affaissement du sol ?

  • Affaissement relativement à la dalle sur sol ;
  • Fissures et cisaillements dans la finition intérieure ;
  • Planchers en bois, au rez-de-chaussée et à l’étage, qui ne sont pas de niveau ;
  • Bombements dans les briques, dans la partie inférieure du parement.

Dans la grande région de Montréal, les sols sont majoritairement composés d’argile. Il est reconnu que les bâtiments assis sur l’argile sont les plus enclins aux mouvements structuraux graves. En effet, la capacité portante de l’argile est généralement problématique. Cette faible capacité portante occasionne des tassements différentiels dans le mur de fondations.

Pour évaluer le tassement différentiel et connaître la gravité de l’affaissement du bâtiment, il faut un test de relevé de niveau, pour les murs de fondations, qui soit réalisé par un spécialiste. Ce dernier mesure le degré d’affaissement et analyse s’il y a dépassement ou non des tolérances admissibles d’après la norme en vigueur. Si nécessaire, il propose alors la solution appropriée. Les travaux correctifs pour la stabilisation des fondations sont l’enfoncement de pieux ou encore l’utilisation de plaques d’attache afin de fixer ensemble les deux côtés du mur de fondations.

Réparation des fissures

Pour éviter les infiltrations d’eau vers l’intérieur  par les fissures dans les murs de fondations, on peut réparer les fissures  dans les murs de fondations à l’aide d’un polyuréthane flexible. Dans le cas où les fissures sont actives, le renforcement des fondations avec des ancrages d’acier est aussi important que l’injection des fissures pour solidifier le béton et empêcher la réouverture d’une fissure. La réparation d’une fissure injectée de l’extérieur nécessitera la pose d’une membrane hydrofuge appliquée sur le mur de fondations qui aura été préalablement nettoyé.

Fissures dans les murs de fondations

Fissure dans le mur de fondations

English English Français Français