Spring floods of 2017

"Exceptional 2017 spring floods occurred in the spring of 2017 in several Quebec municipalities. The flood waters affected 278 municipalities, flooded over 5 300 residences and forced the evacuation of more than 4 000 people as well as the closure of several roads "as recalled by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs (Mamot).

Recurrence flood ratings

By definition, floodplain represents the land surface that is submerged by a watercourse when it overflows its bed. "Many factors affect the flow of a river, and therefore the risk of flooding. Among the most important are the amount and type of rainfall, the nature and condition of the watershed, and the climate "(Government of Canada).

"Spring floods are measured in relation to their level and frequency. For this purpose, the terms "return period" and "recurrence" are used. In the Protection Policy for Shorelines, Coastlines and Floodplains (PPRLPI), it is the recurrence flood ratings of 20 years and 100 years that are taken into account to determine the limits of flood plains. They correspond to the flood limits that have respectively 1 chance on 20 (5% chance) and 1 chance on 100 (1% chance) to occur each year "(Minister of the Environment of Quebec - MDDELCC).

"Essentially, the PPRLPI prohibits all constructions, any reconstruction of buildings considered destroyed by a flood, all works and all works, with some exceptions, in the area of ​​high current (0-20 years). Also, it makes construction and works subject to the application of immunization measures in low-current areas (20-100) "(Ministry of Municipal Affairs - Mamot).

  • Flood areas:
  1. Flood area of ​​0-2 years: 50% risk of being flooded by year;
  2. Flood area of ​​2-20 years: 5% risk of being flooded by year;
  3. Flood area of ​​20-100 years: 1% risk of being flooded by year.
  • Mapping Flood Areas

According to the grouping of watershed organizations in Quebec, the data concerning the flood zones are either almost inaccessible or obsolete: "the maps of flood zones are difficult to access, sometimes incomplete and they date in some cases from the 1970 years" (ROBVQ).

ZIS Decree

The government has the power to create a special intervention zone (ZIS), by order in the territory of certain municipalities affected by the floods [using Article 158 of the Planning and Town Planning Act]. A ZIS aims to "solve a development or environmental problem whose urgency or seriousness justifies, in the opinion of the government, an intervention" (Article 159 LAU).

In 1987, the government adopted its first Shoreline, Coastal and Floodplain Protection Policy (PPRLPI) and the Land Use Planning and Development Act requires municipalities to comply with this Policy in their regulations. It is therefore forbidden to build in the flood zone 0-20 years, because this goes against the protection of the environment.

Damage to buildings

The spring floods of April and May 2017 caused considerable damage to buildings in flood-prone areas.

Here are some examples of damage caused by floods:

  • Slab on damaged soil due to high hydrostatic pressure;
  • The appearance of star-shaped cracks in the slab on the ground;
  • A structural movement in the foundations;
  • The subsidence of the building, etc.

Waterproof foundations

Municipalities require foundations to be water-repellent when a building is located in a flood-prone area (floodplain). Waterproof foundations imply that concrete foundations must have the samearmature necessary to resist the hydrostatic pressure that would cause a flood. The entire external surface of the vertical part of the foundation - located below the flood level - shall be covered with a water-repellent rubberized asphalt membrane with a minimum thickness of approximately 1,6 mm.

In addition, the floor of foundations must be constructed with a base slab (slab), the surface of which is covered with a water-repellent rubberised asphalt membrane with a thickness of approximately 1,6 mm.

In short, the foundations, the footings, the slab on the ground - in the system of water-repellent foundations - must be well waterproof and waterproof. This type of system must not allow water to enter the basement, despite the high hydrostatic pressure that is practiced against these elements.

After flooding a building, the authorities request that a civil engineer visit the property to assess the damage and propose the appropriate solution for the necessary corrections.

St. Lawrence River Basins

The notion of watershed is essential when it comes to flooding. Indeed, "the source of the flood comes from the entire watershed" (ROBVQ). Some experts advocate integrated management of major watersheds to provide flood protection.

Watershed definition

Here is a definition of this one: "a watershed is a territory whose limits are determined by the peaks of the mountains and the unevenness of the ground. These mountain ridges and elevations are commonly referred to as the watershed. Each drop of water that falls within the boundaries of a watershed, no matter where it falls, will reach the same outlet at the end of its course. This outlet can be a lake, a river, a river or an ocean, depending on the scale chosen "(CREBSL).

It should be noted that the St. Lawrence is fed by numerous rivers draining 92 watersheds.

Solutions tracks

"Examples of solutions to be put in place include the restoration of wetlands - which can act as retention ponds -; the delimitation of an area of ​​freedom for watercourses where the residential establishment would be prohibited; the delimitation of non-urbanized natural areas where it would be possible to direct floods; the realization of rain gardens in urban areas "(ROBVQ, watershed organizations).

Spring floods

Waterproof membrane

English English Français Français

Inondations printanières de 2017

« Des inondations printanières de 2017exceptionnelles sont survenues au printemps 2017 dans plusieurs municipalités du Québec. La crue des eaux a touché 278 municipalités, inondé plus de 5 300 résidences et forcé l’évacuation de plus de 4 000 personnes ainsi que la fermeture de plusieurs routes » comme le rappelle le Ministère des Affaires municipales (MAMOT).

Cotes d’inondation de récurrence 

Par définition, la zone inondable représente la surface de terre qui est submergée par un cours d’eau lorsqu’il déborde de son lit. « De nombreux facteurs influent sur le débit d’une rivière, et donc sur les risques d’inondation. Parmi les plus importants, mentionnons la quantité et le type de précipitations, la nature et l’état du bassin versant, ainsi que le climat » (Gouvernement du Canada).

« Les inondations printanières sont mesurées par rapport à leur niveau et à leur fréquence. On utilise à cet effet les expressions « période de retour » et « récurrence ». Dans la Politique de protection des rives, du littoral et des plaines inondables (PPRLPI), ce sont les cotes d’inondation de récurrence de 20 ans et de 100 ans qui sont prises en compte pour déterminer les limites des plaines d’inondation. Elles correspondent aux limites des crues qui ont respectivement 1 chance sur 20 (5% de chance) et 1 chance sur 100 (1% de chance) de se produire chaque année » (Ministère de l’Environnement du Québec – MDDELCC).

« Essentiellement, la PPRLPI interdit toutes les constructions, toute reconstruction des bâtiments considérés détruits par une inondation, tous les ouvrages et tous les travaux, sauf certaines exceptions, dans la zone de grand courant (0-20 ans). Aussi, elle assujettit la construction et les ouvrages à l’application de mesures d’immunisation dans les zones de faible courant (20-100 ans) » (Ministère des Affaires municipales – MAMOT).

  • Zones inondables :
  1. Zone inondable de 0-2 ans : 50 % de risque d’être inondé par année;
  2. Zone inondable de 2-20 ans : 5 % de risque d’être inondé par année;
  3. Zone inondable de 20-100 ans : 1 % de risque d’être inondé par année.
  • Cartographie des zones inondables 

Selon le regroupement des organismes de bassins versants du Québec, les données concernant les zones inondables sont soit presque inaccessibles ou désuètes : « les cartographies de zones inondables sont difficilement accessibles, parfois incomplètes et elles datent dans certains cas des années 1970 » (ROBVQ).

Décret ZIS

Le gouvernement a le pouvoir de créer une zone d’intervention spéciale (ZIS), par décret, sur le territoire de certaines municipalités affectées par les inondations [en utilisant l’article 158 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme]. Une ZIS vise à « résoudre un problème d’aménagement ou d’environnement dont l’urgence ou la gravité justifie, de l’avis du gouvernement, une intervention » (article 159 LAU).

En 1987, le gouvernement adoptait sa première Politique de protection des rives, du littoral et des plaines inondables (PPRLPI) et la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme oblige les municipalités à respecter cette Politique dans leur réglementation. Il est donc défendu de construire dans la zone inondable 0-20 ans, car ceci va à l’encontre de la protection de l’environnement.

Dommages aux bâtiments

Les inondations printanières d’avril et de mai 2017 ont provoqué des dommages matériels considérables aux bâtiments se trouvant dans des zones inondables.

Voici des exemples de dommages causés par les inondations :

  • La dalle sur sol endommagée à cause de la pression hydrostatique élevée;
  • L’apparition de fissures en forme d’étoile dans la dalle sur sol;
  • Un mouvement structural dans les fondations;
  • L’affaissement du bâtiment, etc.

Fondations hydrofuges

Les municipalités exigent que les fondations soient hydrofuges lorsqu’un bâtiment est situé dans une zone sujette aux inondations (plaine inondable). Les fondations hydrofuges impliquent que les fondations de béton doivent avoir l’armature nécessaire pour résister à la pression hydrostatique que provoquerait une crue. Toute la surface externe de la partie verticale des fondations – située sous le niveau d’inondation – doit être recouverte d’une membrane hydrofuge à base d’asphalte caoutchoutée d’une épaisseur minimale d’environ 1,6 mm.

De plus, le plancher des fondations doit être construit avec une contre-dalle de base (dalle de propreté) dont la surface est recouverte d’une membrane hydrofuge à base d’asphalte caoutchoutée d’une épaisseur d’environ 1,6 mm.

Bref, les fondations, les semelles, la dalle sur sol – dans le système de fondations hydrofuges – doivent être bien imperméabilisées et étanches. Ce type de système ne doit pas laisser l’eau pénétrer au sous-sol, malgré la pression hydrostatique élevée qui est pratiquée contre ces éléments.

Après l’inondation d’un bâtiment, les autorités demandent qu’un ingénieur civil visite la propriété pour évaluer les dommages et proposer la solution appropriée pour les corrections nécessaires.

 Bassins versants du St-Laurent

La notion de bassin versant est primordiale lorsqu’il est question d’inondations. En effet, « la source des inondations provient de l’ensemble du bassin versant » (ROBVQ). Certains spécialistes préconisent une gestion intégrée des principaux bassins versants pour assurer une protection contre les inondations.

Définition de bassin versant 

Voici donc une définition de celui-ci : « un bassin versant est un territoire dont les limites sont déterminées par les crêtes des montagnes et les dénivellations du terrain. On appelle généralement ces crêtes de montagne et dénivellations la ligne de partage des eaux. Chacune des gouttes d’eau qui tombent à l’intérieur des limites d’un bassin versant, peu importe l’endroit où elle tombe, atteindra, à la fin de son parcours, le même exutoire. Cet exutoire peut être un lac, une rivière, un fleuve ou un océan, selon l’échelle que l’on choisit » (CREBSL).

Notons que le Saint-Laurent est alimenté par de nombreuses rivières qui drainent 92 bassins versants.

Pistes de solutions 

« Des exemples de solutions à mettre en place comprennent la restauration de milieux humides — qui peuvent agir comme bassins de rétention —; la délimitation d’un espace de liberté pour les cours d’eau où l’établissement résidentiel serait interdit; la délimitation d’espaces naturels non urbanisés où il serait possible de diriger les crues; la réalisation de jardins de pluie en milieu urbain » (ROBVQ, organismes de bassins versants).

Inondations printanières

Membrane hydrofuge

English English Français Français