In Quebec, the inspection of new buildings (Pre-acceptance) dwellings (houses and condos) is governed by the " Regulation respecting the Guarantee Plan for New Residential Buildings ". It is mandatory except for condominium buildings (divided co-ownership) of more than 4 superimposed private portions, undivided co-ownerships and converted condo buildings. All new individual home buyers must contribute and all residential construction contractors must be accredited. Thus, the builder and the buyer must inspect the property together if there is a guarantee plan for this one. This inspection marks the end of the work and the start of the warranty.

The contractor (builder) must provide a list of elements to be checked, according to the type of building, during the inspection of the new buildings. It is advisable to be accompanied by an experienced professional who can identify the deficiencies and apparent defects in the construction, as well as unfinished work.

Guard changes

Since the 1er January 2015, there has been a wind of change in the field of construction and it is now the Residential Construction Guarantee (GCR) which is the non-profit organization authorized by the Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) to administer the New Home Warranty Plans in replacement of the New Home Warranty (GMN) and Abritat (under the APCHQ) as well as Qualité Habitation (QH) managed by the Association de la construction du Québec (ACQ) ).

It is important that buyers verify that the contractor holds a license issued by the RBQ and is accredited by the Mandatory Guarantee Plan Administrator (GCR).

Tall buildings and others

The current warranty plans for residential buildings of more than four (4) superimposed dwellings are optional and managed by the Quebec Association of Construction and Housing Professionals (APCHQ) and ACQ. This optional warranty is also available for other buildings that are not covered by the mandatory warranty provided by the Regulation respecting the Guarantee Plan for New Residential Buildings.

Limited time limits

Within the warranty period of 1, 3 or 5 years depending on the case, "the beneficiary denounces in writing to the contractor the defect of construction found and transmits a copy of this information to the administrator to interrupt the prescription" (34.1 article of the Regulations).

inspection of new buildings

Inspection of new condominiums

English English Français Français

Au Québec, l’inspection des bâtiments neufs (préréception) des habitations (maisons et condos) est régie par le « Règlement sur le Plan de garantie des bâtiments résidentiels neufs ». Elle est obligatoire sauf pour les immeubles à condos (copropriété divise) de plus de 4 parties privatives superposées, les copropriétés indivises et les immeubles à condos convertis. Tous les acheteurs de maisons neuves individuelles doivent y contribuer et tous les entrepreneurs en construction résidentielle doivent être accrédités. Ainsi, le constructeur et l’acheteur doivent obligatoirement inspecter ensemble la propriété s’il existe un plan de garantie pour celle-ci. Cette inspection marque donc la fin des travaux et le début de la garantie.

L’entrepreneur (constructeur) doit fournir une liste d’éléments à vérifier, selon le type de bâtiment, lors de l’inspection des bâtiments neufs . Il est conseillé d’être accompagné d’un professionnel expérimenté qui pourra identifier les déficiences et les malfaçons apparentes, dans la construction, ainsi que les travaux non achevés.

Changements de garde

Depuis le 1er janvier 2015, il y a eu tout un vent de changement dans le domaine de la construction et c’est maintenant la Garantie de Construction Résidentielle (GCR) qui est l’organisme sans but lucratif autorisé par la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) pour administrer les Plans de garantie des maisons neuves en remplacement de Garantie des maisons neuves (GMN) et Abritat (relevant de l’APCHQ) ainsi que Qualité Habitation (QH) gérée par l’Association de la construction du Québec (ACQ).

Il est important que les acheteurs vérifient si l’entrepreneur détient une licence délivrée par la RBQ et s’il est accrédité par l’administrateur du plan de garantie obligatoire (GCR).

Immeubles en hauteur et autres

Les plans de garantie actuels pour les immeubles résidentiels de plus de quatre (4) logements superposés sont facultatifs et gérés par l’Association des professionnels de la construction et de l’habitation du Québec (APCHQ) et l’ACQ. Cette garantie optionnelle est aussi offerte pour les autres bâtiments qui ne sont pas couverts par la garantie obligatoire prévue au Règlement sur le plan de garantie des bâtiments résidentiels neufs.

 

Délais de réclamation limités

Dans le délai de garantie de 1, 3 ou 5 ans selon le cas, « le bénéficiaire dénonce par écrit à l’entrepreneur le défaut de construction constaté et transmet une copie de cette dénonciation à l’administrateur en vue d’interrompre la prescription » (article 34.1 du Règlement).

Préréception

Préréception

English English Français Français