Under 1071 Civil Code of Québec, at least 5% of the common expenses must be paid into a contingency fund reserved for major repairs and replacements of the common elements.

For example, the contingency fund is a reserve that allows the condo syndicate of a condominium building to meet the above expenses.

From pre-reception report or certificate of building status, the engineer lists the major works to be undertaken in the coming years, provides for the costs of this work and determines how much money the co-owners should have.

Useful life of building materials

The study of the provident fund is based on the useful life (or longevity) of the building materials, on the quantity of materials to repair or replace in the building and on the estimated costs of these materials, our days until a projection in the future for a period of 20 or 25 years.

The useful life of materials varies greatly depending on the quality of materials and installation, as well as the frequency of maintenance work on building components. In general, for each component of the building, there is an average service life (under normal operating conditions) that is known in the construction field.

The contingency fund and the life of the components:

  • A French drain - between 25 and 30 years;
  • Aluminum windows - about 30 years old;
  • An elastomeric roof - about 25 years old;
  • Outside asphalt - about 10 years old.

In the case of a pre-reception inspection, the professional takes note of the construction materials used and the quantity of them and, using the architectural plans, creates a table indicating the life of the materials. and another table describing the quantity of building materials. Then, it calculates the replacement costs of these components for a period of 20 or 25 years.

It is based on this calculation that the expert will establish the monthly contribution, that is to say the amount to be paid, every month, by each co-owner. These amounts are transferred to the co-ownership syndicate account to repair and replace the major components of the building when required.

This may be

  • replacing the roof or
  • the waterproofing membrane of the indoor parking or that
  • of the French drain,
  • Windows,
  • the ventilation system of the common areas,
  • plumbing ducts or
  • a major repair for the facades and the structural slab of the interior parking, etc.

In the case of a building that is not new, it is essential that the engineer go on site to do an inspection and check the condition of the building to assess the remaining useful life of its components and calculate The provident fund. This inspection aims to identify what are the deficiencies in the building. Subsequently, the engineer prepares a report that contains his findings and recommendations.

The provident fund

The provident fund

English English Français Français

Selon l’article 1071 Code civil du Québec, au moins 5 % des charges communes doivent être versées dans un fonds de prévoyance réservé aux réparations et aux remplacements majeurs des parties communes.

Ainsi, le fonds de prévoyance est une réserve permettant au syndicat de copropriété d’un immeuble à condominiums de faire face aux dépenses susmentionnées.

À partir du rapport pré-réception ou du certificat d’état d’immeuble, l’ingénieur dresse la liste des travaux majeurs à entreprendre au cours des années à venir, prévoit les coûts de ces travaux et détermine quelle réserve d’argent les copropriétaires devraient constituer.

Durée de vie utile des matériaux de la construction

L’étude du fonds de prévoyance est basée sur la durée de vie utile (ou longévité) des matériaux de construction, sur la quantité de matériaux à réparer ou à remplacer dans le bâtiment et ainsi que sur les coûts estimés de ces matériaux, de nos jours jusqu’à une projection dans l’avenir pour une période de 20 ou 25 ans.

La durée de vie utile des matériaux varie grandement selon la qualité des matériaux et de l’installation, ainsi que de la fréquence des travaux d’entretien sur les composantes de bâtiment. En général, pour chaque composante du bâtiment, il y a une durée de vie utile moyenne (dans des conditions de fonctionnement normales) qui est connue dans le domaine de la construction.

Le fonds de prévoyance et la durée de vie des composantes :

  • Un drain français – entre 25 et 30 ans;
  • Des fenêtres en aluminium – environ 30 ans;
  • Une toiture élastomère – à peu près 25 ans;
  • L’asphalte extérieur – environ 10 ans.

Dans le cas d’une inspection pré-réception, le professionnel prend note des matériaux de construction utilisés ainsi que de la quantité de ceux-ci et, à l’aide des plans architecturaux, il crée un tableau indiquant la durée de vie des matériaux et un autre tableau décrivant la quantité des matériaux de construction. Puis, il calcule les coûts de remplacement de ces composantes pour une période de 20 ou de 25 ans.

C’est en se basant sur ce calcul que l’expert va établir la cotisation mensuelle, c’est-à-dire le montant à payer, tous les mois, par chaque copropriétaire. Ces sommes sont transférées dans le compte du syndicat de copropriété en vue de réparer et de remplacer les composantes majeures du bâtiment lorsque c’est requis.

Il peut s’agir du

  • remplacement de la toiture ou de
  • la membrane d’étanchéité du stationnement intérieur ou celui
  • du drain français,
  • des fenêtres,
  • du système de ventilation des parties communes,
  • des conduits de plomberie ou
  • d’une réparation majeure pour les façades et la dalle structurelle du stationnement intérieur, etc.

Dans le cas d’un bâtiment qui n’est pas récent, il est essentiel que l’ingénieur aille sur place pour faire une inspection et vérifier l’état du bâtiment afin d’évaluer la durée de vie utile restante de ses composantes et calculer Le fonds de prévoyance. Cette inspection vise à relever quelles sont les déficiences dans le bâtiment. Subséquemment, l’ingénieur prépare un rapport qui contient ses constatations et ses recommandations.

Le fonds de prévoyance

Le fonds de prévoyance

English English Français Français