Condominium owners know, for the most part, that repairs to the waterproofing membrane the structural slab of the interior parking is a real headache. If the repairs are important, they can eat up a good part of the estimated budget.

Waterproofing the structural slab

The application of a waterproofing system is required to waterproof the structural slab of the interior parking floor. If the waterproofing membrane was not properly installed and water seeped through the cracks in the slab, these water seepage would severely affect the concrete slab and could cause complicated and costly damage. to fix.

Presence of cracks

In the structural slab, we can find shrinkage cracks or other types of cracks. These can sometimes let the water penetrate through the slab. In the event that the water containing the de-icing salt (transported by the cars in the parking lot) infiltrates through the slab, it would then attack the concrete and the reinforcement of the structural slab.

The waterproofing membrane

It is therefore necessary to repair the cracks first and then apply the waterproofing membrane. Repair of cracks and application of the waterproofing membrane must be done according to the manufacturer's recommendations.

The installation of a waterproofing membrane on a parking slab of approximately 10 000 ft² may cost between 80 000 $ and 120 000 $, depending on the type of membrane. Most manufacturers give a warranty of five (5) years, but in our experience, some membranes have deficiencies after only two years.

During'expertiseswe observed cracks running down the structural slab. The majority of these deficiencies were related to the poor application of the membrane. Thus, the latter took off in some places because of poor adhesion and inadequate repair of cracks.

Repair or replacement

The immediate repair or replacement of the waterproofing membrane of the structural slab of the parking lot must be a priority for the Syndicate de copropriété, and this, to avoid premature deterioration of the structural slab.

The repair of the structural slab damaged by water infiltration causes many inconveniences to the co-owners.

If the concrete is badly damaged and the reinforcement corroded, this may involve corrective work including:

  • Removal of the slab by sections;
  • Installation of a new frame;
  • The formwork;
  • The installation of temporary supports for the parking structure;
  • Concreting

These works are long and expensive. So, it is better to do preventive actions or immediate repairs for the deficiencies (either a punctual repair of the membrane or the replacement) rather than wait until the situation worsens.

English English Français Français

Les propriétaires de condominiums savent, pour la plupart, que des réparations à la membrane d’étanchéité de la dalle structurelle du stationnement intérieur constituent un véritable casse-tête. Si les réparations sont importantes, elles peuvent gruger une bonne part du budget prévisionnel.

Imperméabilisation de la dalle structurelle

L’application d’un système d’étanchéité est requise pour imperméabiliser la dalle structurelle du plancher du stationnement intérieur. Si jamais la membrane d’étanchéité n’était pas bien installée et que l’eau s’infiltrait par les fissures présentes dans la dalle, ces infiltrations d’eau affecteraient gravement la dalle de béton et pourraient causer des dommages qui seraient compliqués et coûteux à réparer.

Présence de fissures

Dans la dalle structurelle, on peut retrouver des fissures de retrait ou bien d’autres types de fissures. Celles-ci peuvent parfois laisser l’eau pénétrer à travers la dalle. Advenant le cas où l’eau contenant le sel de déglaçage (transporté par les voitures dans le stationnement) s’infiltrait à travers la dalle, elle attaquerait alors le béton et l’armature de la dalle structurelle.

La membrane d’étanchéité

Il faut donc réparer les fissures, dans un premier temps et, par la suite, appliquer la membrane d’étanchéité. Les réparations des fissures et l’application de la membrane d’étanchéité doivent être effectuées selon les recommandations du manufacturier.

La pose d’une membrane d’étanchéité sur une dalle du stationnement d’environ 10 000 pi² peut coûter entre 80 000 $ et 120 000 $, tout dépendant du type de membrane. La plupart des manufacturiers donnent une garantie de cinq (5) ans, mais selon notre expérience, certaines membranes présentent des déficiences après seulement deux ans.

Lors d’expertises, nous avons observé des fissures qui coulaient dans la dalle structurelle. La majorité de ces déficiences étaient reliées à la mauvaise application de la membrane. Ainsi, cette dernière décollait à certains endroits à cause de la mauvaise adhérence et d’une réparation non adéquate des fissures.

Réparation ou remplacement

La réparation immédiate ou le remplacement de la membrane d’étanchéité de la dalle structurelle du stationnement doit être une priorité pour le Syndicat de copropriété, et ce, pour éviter la détérioration prématurée de la dalle structurelle.

La réparation de la dalle structurelle endommagée par une infiltration d’eau occasionne beaucoup d’inconvénients aux copropriétaires.

Si le béton est gravement endommagé et l’armature corrodée, ceci peut impliquer des travaux correctifs comprenant :

  • L’enlèvement de la dalle par sections;
  • L’installation d’une nouvelle armature;
  • Le coffrage;
  • L’installation de supports temporaires pour la structure du stationnement;
  • Le bétonnage.

Ces travaux sont longs et coûteux. Donc, vaut mieux faire des actions préventives ou des réparations immédiates pour les déficiences (soit une réparation ponctuelle de la membrane ou le remplacement) plutôt que d’attendre que ne s’aggrave la situation.

English English Français Français