Often the roof structure is deteriorated and blackened and black mold is found on the wooden frame. Generally, the degradation of this structural component results from:

  • A condensation problem caused by air leakage from the ceiling;
  • Insufficient insulation and;
  • Poor ventilation in the attic.

During the winter, the greatest heat loss occurs through the last ceiling in the building (the one that separates the interior space from the attic), which promotes the formation of moisture and moisture. condensation in the attic.

Condensation in the attic (or attic)

A condensation problem is formed when hot, humid air is directed towards the attic through unsealed holes in the last ceiling. In fact, hot air leaks through these holes are the main cause of condensation in the attic or attic space. The problem worsens when insulation is insufficient to prevent heat from crossing the ceiling of the building, that is to say that isolation has a weakness thermal resistance..

Solution to the condensation problem

To eliminate the problem of condensation in the attic and the associated deficiencies (rot of the structure, mold formation, water infiltration problem, premature deterioration of the roof covering, etc.), it is therefore necessary:

  • Ensure a good airtightness between the house and the attic;
  • An insulation with a thermal resistance sufficient to minimize heat loss;
  • A ventilation made in such a way as to evacuate hot, humid air into the attic outwards. The attic must remain dry and cool as outside.

Chimney effect and or pulling effect

Why do the air leaks are they more important at the last ceiling towards the attic? In winter, the movement of air in a building resembles the movement of air in a chimney. During the winter, heated air tends to flow up the building. This situation creates a negative pressure in the lower part of the building, which causes a cold air infiltration, in the lower part of the outer shell, and theexfiltration of hot air by the upper part.
The last ceiling of a building is the element most exposed to the hot air rising from the bottom to the top. In fact, hot, humid air tends to escape to the attic through the openings. That's when the warm air meets the cold air in the attic. In the case where there is no adequate ventilation system to evacuate the humid air, condensation forms due to the hot and humid air.

Reduction of air leaks

To minimize hot air leakage from inside the building to the attic, make sure the last ceiling is airtight. Here is a list of places that are likely to leak and need to be sealed. It is thus necessary to seal the junctions between the partitions and the ceiling in the following places:

  • Around the plumbing column and other pipes at the ceiling level;
  • Around wires or lighting fixtures that cross the ceiling;
  • Access hatches at the attic;
  • Around the fireplace;
  • At the junctions between the partitions and the last ceiling;
  • Around ducts, fans, etc.

Ventilation of the attic

Concerning the insulation in the attic, care must be taken that the insulation does not block the perforated soffits at the edge of the roof. This situation prevents the circulation of fresh air in the attic and promotes condensation. To always ensure a space between the insulation and the bridging of the roof, install deflectorsat the base of the eave, so as not to block the soffits.

He is careful about the houses of the 50 and 60 years, because the soffits are blocked by wooden planks. So, cut the excess boards so that perforated soffits are functional.

The presence of perforated soffits, at the edge of the roof, is not enough to create an air circulation in the attic. Again, the chimney effect is used in the attic to remove hot, moist air and replace it with dry, fresh air from the outside.

The chimney effect can be created in the attic by installing one or more aerators at the top of the roof. This allows fresh air to enter the perforated soffits and warm, moist air out through the vents.

Solution to the condensation problem

In summary, three elements are needed to prevent premature deterioration of roof structure and coating and to prevent mold growth, water infiltration problems, ice damming and costs. high heating.

The solution is to respect the following three conditions: 1) insulation with sufficient thermal resistance; 2) ventilation ensuring good air circulation in the attic and; 3) a good airtightness at the last ceiling to prevent air leakage to the attic.

Condensation problem

Condensation problem in the attic

English English Français Français

Problème de condensation

Il arrive souvent que la structure du toit soit détériorée et noircie et qu’on retrouve de la moisissure noire sur la charpente en bois. Généralement, la dégradation de cette composante structurale résulte de :

  1. Un problème de condensation causé par des fuites d’air par le plafond ;
  2. Un isolant non adéquat et ;
  3. La mauvaise ventilation dans l’entretoit.

Durant l’hiver, la plus importante perte de chaleur se produit par le dernier plafond dans le bâtiment (celui qui sépare l’espace intérieur du grenier), ce qui favorise la formation d’humidité et de condensation dans l’entretoit.

Condensation dans l’entretoit (ou combles)

Un problème de condensation se forme quand l’air chaud et humide se dirige, vers l’entretoit, à travers les trous non scellés au dernier plafond. En fait, les fuites d’air chaud, par ces trous, constituent la principale cause de condensation dans l’entretoit ou dans le vide sous toit. Le problème s’aggrave quand l’isolation est insuffisante pour empêcher la chaleur de traverser le plafond du bâtiment, c’est-à-dire que cette isolation a une faible résistance thermique..

Solution au problème de condensation

Pour éliminer le problème de condensation dans l’entretoit et les déficiences associées (pourriture de la structure, formation de moisissures, problème d’infiltration d’eau, détérioration prématurée du revêtement de toit, etc.), il faut donc :

  1. Assurer une bonne étanchéité à l’air entre la maison et l’entretoit ;
  2. Une isolation possédant une résistance thermique suffisante pour réduire au maximum la perte thermique ;
  3. Une ventilation faite de façon à évacuer l’air chaud et humide dans l’entretoit vers l’extérieur. L’entretoit doit rester sec et frais comme à l’extérieur.

Effet de cheminée et ou effet de tirage

Pourquoi les fuites d’air sont-elles plus importantes au niveau du dernier plafond vers l’entretoit ? En hiver, le mouvement de l’air dans un bâtiment ressemble au mouvement d’air dans une cheminée. Durant l’hiver, l’air chauffé a tendance à circuler vers le haut de la bâtisse. Cette situation crée une pression négative dans la partie inférieure de l’immeuble, ce qui provoque une infiltration d’air froid, dans la partie inférieure de l’enveloppe extérieure, et l’exfiltration d’air chaud par la partie supérieure.
Le dernier plafond d’un bâtiment est l’élément le plus exposé à l’air chaud qui monte du bas vers le haut. En fait, l’air chaud et humide tend à s’échapper, vers le grenier, par les orifices. C’est alors que l’air chaud rencontre l’air froid dans le grenier. Dans le cas où il n’y a pas de système de ventilation adéquat pour évacuer l’air humide, de la condensation se forme à cause de l’air chaud et humide.

 Réduction des fuites d’air

Pour minimiser les fuites d’air chaud de l’intérieur du bâtiment vers l’entretoit, il faut s’assurer que le dernier plafond est étanche à l’air. Voici une liste des endroits propices aux fuites d’air et qui doivent être scellés. Il faut ainsi sceller les jonctions entre les cloisons et le plafond aux endroits suivants :

  • Autour de la colonne de plomberie et des autres tuyaux au niveau du plafond ;
  • Autour des fils ou des appareils d’éclairage qui traversent le plafond ;
  • Les trappes d’accès à l’entretoit ;
  • Autour de la cheminée ;
  • Aux jonctions entre les cloisons et le dernier plafond ;
  • Autour des conduits, des ventilateurs, etc.

Ventilation de l’entretoit

Concernant l’isolant dans l’entretoit, il faut faire attention pour que l’isolant ne bloque pas les soffites perforés au bord du toit. Cette situation empêche la circulation d’air frais dans l’entretoit et favorise la condensation. Pour toujours assurer la présence d’un espace entre l’isolation et le pontage du toit, il faut installer des déflecteurs, à la base de l’avant-toit, pour ne pas bloquer les soffites.

Il faire attention par rapport aux maisons des années 50 et 60, parce que les soffites sont bloqués par des planches en bois. Donc, il faut couper l’excédent des planches pour que les soffites perforés soient fonctionnels.

La présence de soffites perforés, au bord du toit, n’est pas suffisante pour créer une circulation d’air dans l’entretoit. Encore une fois, on utilise l’effet de cheminée, dans l’entretoit, pour évacuer l’air chaud et humide et le remplacer par de l’air sec et frais en provenance de l’extérieur.

On peut créer l’effet de cheminée, dans le grenier, en installant un ou plusieurs aérateurs au sommet de la toiture. Ceci permet à l’air frais d’entrer par les soffites perforés et à l’air chaud et humide de sortir par les aérateurs.

Solution au problème de condensation

En résumé, trois éléments sont nécessaires pour éviter la détérioration prématurée de la structure et du revêtement de la toiture et pour empêcher la formation de moisissures, l’apparition de problèmes d’infiltrations d’eau, la formation de barrages de glace et des coûts élevés de chauffage.

La solution consiste à respecter les trois conditions suivantes : 1) une isolation avec une résistance thermique suffisante; 2) une ventilation assurant une bonne circulation d’air dans l’entretoit et; 3) une bonne étanchéité à l’air au dernier plafond pour empêcher les fuites d’air vers l’entretoit.

Problème de condensation

Expertise condensation

English English Français Français