The installation of acrylic coatings started in the 60 years. Two decades later, rot and mold problems were discovered in the wood structure behind this type of cladding, particularly at the corners of the openings, at the intersection of the walls and roof, and at the base of the cladding. .

Former Facility (SIFE)

Laying a system insulation Coated Facades (SIFE) consists primarily of expanded polystyrene foam (EPS) insulation panels with a ribbed backing and an exterior acrylic finish. At the very beginning, the polystyrene panels were placed directly on the membrane air barrier and the intermediate coating without the presence of a air blade.

Problems noted

In our assessments, we removed the acrylic coating and the expanded polystyrene insulation, and found that the siding and the sill were wet, blackened and rotten. Sometimes there was even mold.

Sealing system

In some cases, the waterproofing system, at the base of the siding, had not been executed according to the rules of art. The metal flashing had not been slipped under the air barrier membrane and there was no gap between the acrylic coating and the foundation wall to ensure a proper drainage system. water that can pass through the outer skin.

At the base of the exterior cladding (at the junction of the acrylic cladding with the foundation wall), we have found, on a few occasions, that the waterproofing system has important deficiencies such as:

  • The metal flashing at the base of the acrylic siding was not slid behind the air barrier;
  • The absence of a waterproofing membrane at the junction of the flashing and the intermediate wood cladding;
  • The total lack of a water drainage system at the base of the acrylic coating;

Note that the air barrier membrane must overlap all deck flashings at the "wall-to-roof" interfaces. In addition, there must be a clearance space between the acrylic coating and the roof. The water passing through the envelope, at the level of the roof flashings, flows along the metal flashings installed at the junctions to the lowest point of the flashings at this point. The water must be routed to the outside by a folding flashing, otherwise the water flows on the air barrier membrane to the base of the exterior facing. This situation explains the presence of dark circles on the air barrier membrane under the corners of metal roof flashings.

Water flowing through the outer casing, particularly at the corners of metal roof flashings, runs off the surface of the air barrier membrane. Arriving at the base of the siding, the water meets:

  • An unsuitable sealing system that is not made according to the rules of the art;
  • An acrylic facing that does not allow free flow of water to the outside.

The trapped water at the base of acrylic coating causes degradation of the structure behind the acrylic coating and mold formation.

Proposed solution

After the occurrence of major damage in many buildings, the specialists realized that the water, which managed to infiltrate, remained trapped in the polystyrene and rotten the wooden structure. In this way, the rainscreen principle was not respected.

Since the 2000 years, the solution to these problems has been to "create a drainage and sealing barrier behind the insulation" (Perrier Guide).

Acrylic coating

Acrylic coating

English English Français Français

Revêtement en acrylique

L’installation de revêtements en acrylique a commencé dans les années 60. Deux décennies plus tard, on a découvert des problèmes de pourriture et de moisissures dans la structure en bois, derrière ce type de revêtement, particulièrement aux coins des ouvertures, à l’intersection des murs et du toit ainsi qu’à la base du parement.

Ancienne installation (SIFE)

La pose d’un système d’isolation des façades avec enduit (SIFE) comporte principalement des panneaux d’isolant en mousse de polystyrène expansé (PSE), à endos nervuré, et une finition acrylique extérieure. Au tout début, les panneaux en polystyrène étaient posés directement sur la membrane pare-air et le revêtement intermédiaire sans la présence d’une lame d’air.

Problèmes notés

Lors d’expertises, nous avons enlevé le revêtement en acrylique et l’isolant de polystyrène expansé, et nous avons découvert que le revêtement intermédiaire et la lisse d’assise étaient mouillés, noircis et pourris. Parfois, il y avait même des moisissures.

Système d’étanchéité

Dans certains cas, le système d’étanchéité, à la base du parement, n’avait pas été exécuté selon les règles de l’art. En effet, le solin métallique n’avait pas été glissé en dessous de la membrane pare-air et il n’y avait pas d’espace entre le revêtement d’acrylique et le mur de fondations pour assurer un système d’évacuation de l’eau pouvant traverser le revêtement extérieur.

À la base du parement extérieur (à la jonction du parement d’acrylique avec le mur de fondations), nous avons découvert, à quelques reprises, que le système d’étanchéité comportait des déficiences importantes telles que :

  • Le solin métallique, à la base du parement d’acrylique, n’était pas glissé derrière le pare-air ;
  • L’absence d’une membrane d’étanchéité en papier (ou autres) à la jonction du solin métallique et du revêtement intermédiaire en bois ;
  • Le manque total d’un système d’évacuation d’eau à la base du revêtement d’acrylique ;

Mentionnons que la membrane pare-air doit chevaucher tous les solins de recouvrement aux interfaces « mur-toit ». De plus, il faut laisser un espace d’évacuation entre le revêtement en acrylique et la toiture. L’eau qui traverse l’enveloppe, au niveau des solins des toitures, coule le long des solins métalliques installés aux jonctions jusqu’au point le plus bas des solins à ce point. L’eau doit être acheminée vers l’extérieur, par un solin rabattable, sinon l’eau ruisselle sur la membrane pare-air jusqu’à la base du parement extérieur. Cette situation explique la présence de cernes sur la membrane pare-air sous les coins des solins métalliques des toitures.

L’eau qui traverse l’enveloppe extérieure, particulièrement aux coins des solins métalliques des toitures, ruisselle sur la surface de la membrane pare-air. En arrivant à la base du parement, l’eau rencontre donc :

  • Un système d’étanchéité non adéquat qui n’est pas réalisé selon les règles de l’art;
  • Un parement d’acrylique qui ne permet pas le libre écoulement de l’eau vers l’extérieur.

L’eau emprisonnée à la base de revêtement acrylique cause la dégradation de la structure derrière le revêtement d’acrylique et la formation de moisissures.

Solution proposée 

Après l’apparition de dommages très importants dans moult bâtiments, les spécialistes ont réalisé que l’eau, qui réussissait à s’infiltrer, restait emprisonnée dans le polystyrène et faisait pourrir la structure en bois. De la sorte, le principe d’écran pare-pluie n’était pas respecté.

Depuis les années 2000, la solution pour remédier à ces problèmes a été de « créer une barrière de drainage et d’étanchéité derrière l’isolant » (Guide Perrier).

Vice caché

Vice caché

Revêtement acrylique

Revêtement acrylique