Masonry Flashing - Wall Base

At the base of the exterior facing, at the junction between the bricks and the foundation walls, there is a sealing system composed of a basic masonry flashing, an air barrier membrane (or coating paper) and weep. This system must be installed so as to prevent water infiltration into the interior of the building.

Masonry Flashing - Wall Base

Masonry Flashing - Wall Base

Sealing system (brick facing base) according to CMHC and APCHQ

In the case of a brick back wall attached to a wood frame wall, the masonry flashing should rise behind the sheathing paper or membrane approximately 150 mm. This is to prevent water from running off the paper and getting behind the flashing. Let us mention that chantepleures provide ventilation and water evacuation. They are laid out in the starting row of the masonry siding, leaving a vertical joint without mortar every 32 inches.

This waterproofing system at the base of the exterior cladding is not recent, even in the National Building Code of 1960 or 1965, the flashing at the base of the brick was already provided as well as the weepers. These elements are essential to prevent water infiltration, inside the building, and evacuate water to the outside.

Generally, in relatively old buildings (prior to 1970), it is observed that the waterproofing system at the base of the facing is defective. This situation creates problems of water infiltration, towards the interior of the building, at the junction between the exterior facing and the foundation walls.

Masonry flashing

Water infiltration at the base of the bricks

To solve these water infiltration problems and prevent rotting of the wooden structure located above the foundation walls (foundation rail, edge joist, intermediate coating), a qualified mason must make the following procedures or works, namely:

  1. Support the brick walls and remove several rows of bricks at the base of the facing;
  2. Replace the waterproofing flashing at the base of the siding;
  3. Check the air barrier membrane and make the necessary corrections if necessary;
  4. Slide the base flashing behind the air barrier membrane according to good practice;
  5. Make the system waterproof before installing the bricks;
  6. Create chantepleures in the first row of bricks respecting the rules of the art.
Masonry flashing

Waterproofing system at the base of the brick facing (Quebec Construction Code-1995)

Solin de maçonnerie – Base du mur

À la base du parement extérieur, à la jonction entre les briques et les murs de fondations, il y a présence d’un système d’étanchéité composé d’un solin de maçonnerie de base, d’une membrane pare-air (ou papier de revêtement) et de chantepleures. Ce système doit être installé de façon à empêcher les infiltrations d’eau vers l’intérieur du bâtiment.

Solin de maçonnerie – Base du mur

Solin de maçonnerie – Base du mur

Système d’étanchéité (base parement en brique) selon SCHL et APCHQ

Dans le cas d’un contre-mur en brique fixé à un mur en ossature de bois, le solin de maçonnerie doit monter derrière le papier de revêtement ou la membrane d’environ 150 mm. Ceci pour empêcher l’eau de ruisseler sur le papier et de pénétrer derrière le solin. Mentionnons que les chantepleures assurent la ventilation et l’évacuation de l’eau. On les aménage dans le rang de départ du parement de maçonnerie, en laissant un joint vertical sans mortier à tous les 32 pouces.

Ce système d’étanchéité a la base du parement extérieur n’est pas récent, même dans le Code national du bâtiment de 1960 ou de 1965, le solin à la base de la brique était déjà prévu ainsi que les chantepleures. Ces éléments sont essentiels pour empêcher des infiltrations d’eau, à l’intérieur du bâtiment, et évacuer l’eau vers l’extérieur.

Généralement, dans les bâtiments relativement âgés (antérieurs à 1970), on constate que le système d’étanchéité, à la base du parement est défectueux. Cette situation engendre des problèmes d’infiltration d’eau, vers l’intérieur du bâtiment, à la jonction entre le parement extérieur et les murs de fondations.

Solin de maçonnerie

Infiltration d’eau à la base des briques

Pour régler ces problèmes d’infiltration d’eau et éviter la pourriture de la structure en bois se trouvant au-dessus des murs de fondations (lisse d’assise, solive de rive, revêtement intermédiaire), il faut qu’un maçon qualifié fasse les démarches ou les travaux suivants, à savoir :

  1. Supporter les murs en briques et enlever plusieurs rangées de briques à la base du parement ;
  2. Remplacer le solin d’étanchéité à la base du parement;
  3. Vérifier la membrane pare- air et faire les corrections nécessaires s’il y a lieu;
  4. Glisser le solin de base derrière la membrane pare-air selon les règles de l’art;
  5. Rendre le système étanche avant de reposer les briques;
  6. Créer des chantepleures dans la première rangée de briques en respectant les règles de l’art.
Solin de maçonnerie

Système d’étanchéité à la base du parement de brique (Code de construction du Québec-1995)