The vertical outer envelope of a building designates the vertical exterior walls which consist of several essential components, namely the supporting structure (wooden walls, concrete, steel) and the exterior cladding. The latter can be made of various materials: stones, bricks, concrete blocks, acrylic coating, aggregate, sheet steel, vinyl or aluminum declines, wood siding etc.

Certain elements must be installed inside or on the two main components mentioned above (structure and exterior cladding), such as the weepers, the steel angles, the steel lintels, the air barrier membrane, the vapor barrier, insulation, seals, doors, windows, etc.

As part of a visual inspection of the vertical exterior envelope (exterior walls), the engineer verifies the current state of all visible and accessible components and writes a report including his findings and recommendations. In his report, the engineer describes the deficiencies noted and the importance of each deficiency. In addition, it recommends the necessary maintenance, repair or replacement work relative to the components of the building envelope. This taking into consideration the degree of deterioration, the cause and the useful and residual service life of these components.

If the engineer deems it necessary, then he performs an in-depth examination concerning one or more problems. To do this, exploratory holes must be made in the bricks, in order to check the condition of the structure - behind the bricks - at specific locations. If this is the case, the engineer then notifies the client or the co-ownership syndicate asking them to hire a specialized contractor who will make the required cuts or holes in the envelope. These exploratory holes can be either outside or inside and the engineer will check the elements of the envelope through these holes. Subsequently, he writes a report explaining the deficiencies observed (example: decay of the structure, presence of mold, absence of an air barrier membrane, condensation, trace of water infiltration, presence of insects, etc. ). Finally, the engineer proposes the appropriate solution.

See our achievements

Building envelope, rotten structure behind the acrylic coating

Building envelope, rotten structure behind the acrylic coating

L’enveloppe extérieure verticale d’un bâtiment désigne les murs extérieurs verticaux qui sont constitués de plusieurs composantes essentielles, à savoir la structure portante (murs en bois, béton, acier) et le revêtement extérieur. Ce dernier peut être fait de divers matériaux : pierres, briques, blocs de béton, revêtement d’acrylique, agrégat, tôle d’acier, déclins de vinyle ou d’aluminium, revêtement en bois etc.

Certains éléments doivent être installés à l’intérieur ou sur les deux composantes principales susmentionnées (structure et revêtement extérieur), comme les chantepleures, les cornières d’acier, les linteaux d’acier, la membrane pare-aire, le pare-vapeur, l’isolation, les joints de scellement, les portes, les fenêtres, etc.

Dans le cadre d’une inspection visuelle de l’enveloppe extérieure verticale (murs extérieurs), l’ingénieur vérifie l’état actuel de tous les composants visibles et accessibles et rédige un rapport incluant ses constatations et ses recommandations. Dans son rapport, l’ingénieur décrit les déficiences notées et l’importance de chaque déficience. De plus, il recommande les travaux d’entretien, de réparation ou de remplacement nécessaires relativement aux composantes de l’enveloppe du bâtiment. Ceci en prenant en considération le degré de détérioration, la cause et la durée de vie utile et résiduelle de ces composantes.

Si l’ingénieur le juge nécessaire, alors il effectue un examen approfondi concernant une ou plusieurs problématiques. Pour ce faire, il faut pratiquer des trous exploratoires dans les briques, afin de vérifier l’état de la structure – derrière les briques – à des endroits spécifiques. Si c’est le cas, l’ingénieur avise alors le client ou le syndicat de copropriété leur demandant d’embaucher un entrepreneur spécialisé qui fera les coupes ou les trous demandés dans l’enveloppe. Ces trous exploratoires peuvent être soit à l’extérieur ou à l’intérieur et l’ingénieur vérifiera les éléments de l’enveloppe par ces trous. Par la suite, il rédige un rapport explicitant les déficiences observées (exemple : pourriture de la structure, présence de moisissures, absence d’une membrane pare-air, condensation, trace d’infiltration d’eau, présence d’insectes, etc.). Finalement, l’ingénieur propose la solution appropriée.

Consultez nos réalisations

Enveloppe du bâtiment, structure pourrie derrière le revêtement en acrylique

Enveloppe du bâtiment, structure pourrie derrière le revêtement en acrylique