Here is the second part concerning wet basements (humidity in the basement) where the waterproofing of the foundations, the drainage system and the presence of mold on the foundation walls will be discussed.

In general, we find that the walls of poured concrete foundations, prior to 1958, are not waterproof. Indeed, the concrete of that time was not of good quality, because the technology for the manufacture of concrete was not advanced enough.

Waterproofing membrane

Foundation concrete is generally brittle and porous in older buildings. In addition, the waterproofing membrane - installed outside on foundation walls - if it exists of course, is old and non-functional in most cases.

Drainage system

It should also be noted that the drainage system, at the base of the foundations, became compulsory around 1955. It is very likely that there is no French drain, around a building before this time, to intercept groundwater that may accumulate in the soil.

The lack of adequate drainage at the perimeter of the foundation walls and the absence of an effective waterproofing system outside - on foundation walls with porous and lower quality concrete - means that foundation walls are always soaked in water or very humid. This situation causes the formation of mold on foundation walls, indoors, and often causes water to enter the interior of the building.

Mold and efflorescence

The majority of basements in residential buildings, lacking a French drain, have odors of humidity. It is through renovations in the basement, and after removing the finish on the walls that people discover a black layer of mold and fungal growths on the walls and building materials. It is then observed that the concrete is very wet that there is a lot of bloom on the foundation walls. It is also possible that the concrete is brittle and very weak.

Suggested solutions

In reality, the solution may vary depending on the condition of the foundation walls or, more precisely, the strength of the concrete. If the latter is very weak and crumbles, in this case, consideration should be given to the total replacement of the foundation walls carried out by a company specialized in the field.

If the foundation walls can be repaired, repair work must therefore be carried out depending on the condition of the concrete. After repairing the concrete and cracks, it will be necessary to waterproof the foundation walls and install a French drain outside. Exterior landscaping works play a considerable role in keeping water away from the building and in not straining the drainage system at the base of the foundations. Adding an adequate fill to the perimeter of the house when installing a French drain, correcting the slope of the land, installing copings for basement windows, etc. are important works that keep the basement dry.

Contamination (mold)

In case of mold contamination, it is advisable to carry out renovation work, inside the basement, after decontamination carried out by a specialized company. Then, the structure affected by humidity or by water infiltration must be replaced.

It is therefore essential, before purchasing an older property, to pay particular attention to the condition of the concrete of the foundation walls, the waterproofing of these walls and the drainage of the foundations (French drain), because Corrective work could prove to be very expensive.

Mold in the basement, on the foundation walls

Mold in the basement

Voici le deuxième volet concernant les sous-sols humides (humidité au sous-sol) où il sera question de l’étanchéité des fondations, du système de drainage et de la présence de moisissures sur les murs de fondations.

En général, nous constatons que les murs de fondations en béton coulé, antérieurs à 1958, ne sont pas étanches. En effet, le béton de cette époque n’était pas de bonne qualité, car la technologie pour la fabrication du béton n’était pas assez avancée.

Membrane d’étanchéité

Le béton des fondations est généralement friable et poreux dans les bâtiments plus anciens. De plus, la membrane d’étanchéité – installée à l’extérieur sur les murs de fondations – si elle existe bien entendu, est âgée et non fonctionnelle dans la majorité des cas.

Système de drainage

Il faut également souligner que le système de drainage, à la base des fondations, est devenu obligatoire vers 1955. Il est fort probable qu’il n’y a pas de drain français, autour d’un bâtiment d’avant cette époque, pour intercepter les eaux souterraines pouvant s’accumuler dans le sol.

L’absence d’un drainage adéquat, au périmètre des murs de fondations et l’inexistence d’un système efficace d’étanchéité à l’extérieur – sur les murs de fondations possédant un béton poreux et de moindre qualité – font en sorte que les murs de fondations restent toujours imbibés d’eau ou très humides. Cette situation provoque la formation de moisissures sur les murs de fondations, à l’intérieur, et occasionne souvent des infiltrations d’eau vers l’intérieur du bâtiment.

Moisissures et efflorescence

La majorité des sous-sols des bâtiments résidentiels, dépourvus d’un drain français, ont des odeurs d’humidité. C’est en faisant des rénovations au sous-sol, et après avoir enlevé la finition sur les murs que les gens découvrent une couche noire de moisissures ainsi que des croissances fongiques sur les murs et les matériaux de construction. On observe alors que le béton est très humide qu’il y a beaucoup d’efflorescence sur les murs de fondations. Il est aussi possible aussi que le béton soit friable et très faible.

Solutions proposées

En réalité, la solution peut varier tout dépendant de l’état des murs de fondations ou, plus précisément, de la solidité du béton. Si ce dernier est très faible et s’effrite, dans ce cas, il faudra envisager le remplacement total des murs de fondations réalisé par une compagnie spécialisée dans le domaine.

Si les murs de fondations sont réparables, il faudra donc procéder aux travaux de réparation en fonction de l’état du béton. Après les réparations du béton et des fissures, il faudra imperméabiliser les murs de fondations et installer un drain français à l’extérieur. Les travaux d’aménagement extérieur jouent un rôle considérable pour éloigner l’eau du bâtiment et pour ne pas solliciter le système de drainage à la base des fondations. L’ajout d’un remblai adéquat au périmètre de la maison lors de l’installation d’un drain français, la correction de la pente du terrain, l’installation de margelles pour les fenêtres de sous-sol, etc. sont des travaux importants qui permettent de garder le sous-sol au sec.

Contamination (moisissures)

En cas de contamination par les moisissures, il est conseillé d’effectuer les travaux de rénovation, à l’intérieur du sous-sol, après la décontamination réalisée par une compagnie spécialisée. Puis, la structure affectée par l’humidité ou par les infiltrations d’eau devra être remplacée.

Il est donc primordial, avant l’achat d’une propriété plus âgée de porter une attention particulière à l’état du béton des murs de fondations, à l’étanchéité de ces murs et au drainage des fondations (drain français), car les travaux correctifs pourraient s’avérer très onéreux.

Moisissures au sous-sol, sur les murs de fondations

Moisissures au sous-sol