Prospective buyers of a building do not always understand the importance of a pre-purchase inspection. Although the latter is not mandatory under the law, it can avoid many worries for new owners by reassuring them as to their choice to buy or not the property coveted.

Essence of pre-purchase inspection

The pre-purchase inspection consists of a visual inspection of the systems and major components of the building. Its purpose is to evaluate the general condition of the building and to determine major defects.

This inspection includes a visual examination of the following: the interior of the building, the envelope, the roof, the visible structure (foundations, floors, ceilings, walls, columns, etc.), insulation, building mechanics (heating, electricity, plumbing, ventilation, etc.) and exterior landscaping.

Whether for a pre-purchase inspection of a residential, commercial or industrial building, you will obtain a detailed written report mentioning the deficiencies observed visually, recommendations for corrective work to be done, photos and diagrams.

The pre-purchase inspection therefore concerns the general condition of the visible components of the building on the day of the visit. It's not about no inspection of compliance with various codes or standards. It's a visual inspection and not an expertise.

Recommended expertise

In his pre-purchase report, the inspector will indicate if there is expertise to do and with which specialist in the field (engineer, plumber, electrician, etc.). A building expertise is necessary in case of particular problems such as air infiltration, mold, water infiltration, condensation on windows, foundation slump, non-functional French drain, etc. This is a more in-depth step than visual inspection.

Law and pre-purchase inspection

The Quebec Civil Code contains no provision requiring a buyer to use the services of a pre-purchase inspector. Nevertheless, even if the pre-purchase inspection is not mandatory in Quebec, it is strongly recommended, as it facilitates legal recourse if there is a discovery of a hidden defect.

However, the legislator has Quebec Civil Code, a legal warranty of the seller that aims to protect potential buyers hidden defects. In order for this guarantee to be presented to the courts, in the event of a hidden defect, the purchaser must demonstrate that he has, before the purchase, acted with prudence and diligence.

Pre-purchase inspection

Pre-purchase inspection

English English Français Français

Les acheteurs éventuels d’une maison, d’un condominium ou de tout autre bâtiment ne comprennent pas toujours l’importance de procéder à une inspection préachat. Même si cette dernière n’est pas obligatoire en vertu de la loi, elle peut éviter bien des soucis aux nouveaux propriétaires en les rassurant quant à leur choix d’acheter ou non la propriété convoitée.

Essence de cette inspection

L’inspection préachat consiste en une inspection visuelle des systèmes et des principales composantes du bâtiment. Elle a pour but d’évaluer l’état général de l’immeuble et de déterminer les défauts majeurs.

Cette inspection comprend l’examen visuel des éléments suivants, à savoir : l’intérieur du bâtiment, l’enveloppe, la toiture, la structure visible (fondations, planchers, plafonds, murs, colonnes, etc.), l’isolation, la mécanique du bâtiment (chauffage, électricité, plomberie, ventilation, etc.) et l’aménagement extérieur.

Que ce soit pour une inspection préachat d’un bâtiment résidentiel, commercial ou industriel, vous obtiendrez un rapport écrit détaillé mentionnant les déficiences observées visuellement, les recommandations pour les travaux correctifs à apporter, les photos et les schémas.

L’inspection préachat a donc pour objet l’état général des composantes visibles du bâtiment le jour de la visite. Il ne s’agit pas d’une inspection de conformité aux divers codes ou normes. C’est une inspection visuelle et non pas une expertise.

Expertises recommandées

Dans son rapport préachat, l’inspecteur va indiquer s’il y a des expertises à faire et avec quel spécialiste dans le domaine (ingénieur, plombier, électricien, etc.). Une expertise du bâtiment est nécessaire en cas de problème particulier comme par exemple une infiltration d’air, moisissure, infiltrations d’eau, condensation sur les fenêtres, affaissement de fondations, drain français non fonctionnel, etc. Celle-ci est une démarche plus approfondie que l’inspection visuelle.

La loi et l’inspection préachat

Le Code civil du Québec ne contient aucune disposition obligeant un acheteur à recourir aux services d’un inspecteur préachat. Malgré tout, même si l’inspection préachat n’est pas obligatoire au Québec, elle est fortement recommandée, car elle facilite le recours en justice s’il y a découverte d’un vice caché.

Cependant, le législateur a prévu, au Code Civil du Québec, une garantie légale du vendeur qui a pour objectif de protéger les acheteurs d’éventuels vices cachés. Pour que cette garantie puisse être présentée devant les tribunaux, en cas de vice caché, l’acquéreur doit démontrer qu’il a, préalablement à l’achat, agi avec prudence et diligence.

Mounir Boutros, Inspecteur en bâtiment

À lire :

  1. Pourquoi un ingénieur expert pour le préachat ?
  2. Norme de pratique professionnelle pour l’inspection visuelle de bâtiments principalement résidentiels (AIBQ)
  3. Norme de pratique professionnelle pour l’inspection de bâtiments résidentiels (OTPQ)
  4. Norme de pratique de l’inspection en bâtiment (ANIEB)